Planning & Zoning Commission

The primary responsibility of the Planning & Zoning Commission is to make recommendations to the City Council on matters pertaining to the City’s long range comprehensive land use plan.

It serves as a hearing body on re-zoning petitions and on petitions for the granting of Special Use permits. It also makes recommendations to the City Council on the approval of subdivisions of land. Another primary duty is to hear petitions or appeals to the application of the terms of the City's Zoning Code. The Commission has limited authority to grant variations to the provisions of the Zoning Code, only when the property owner can demonstrate that the Zoning Code imposes practical difficulties or particular hardship not created by the property owner. This Commission consists of seven (7) members who reside either within the City limits or within a one and one-half mile radius of the City. Members are appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council. They serve a term of five years or until their successors are duly appointed. Planning & Zoning Commission meetings are held at the Library meeting room at Five Points Washington on the first Wednesday of each month, beginning at 6:30 P.M.

Staff liaisons: Planning & Development Director & Building & Zoning Supervisor

Planning & Zoning Commission Members

  • Mike Burdette
  • Brian Fischer
  • Louis Milot
  • Tom Reeder
  • Hans Ritter
  • Joe Roberts
  • Steve Scott

Contact Us

City Hall
301 Walnut St
Washington, IL 61571
Get Directions

In this Department

More Information

Contact Us

301 Walnut St, Washington IL 61571
  • (309) 444-3196
  • (309) 444-9779
  • Staff Directory